City of Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, Washington, Whidbey Island's Premier Waterfront Community

Jump to Content

865 SE Barrington Drive
Oak Harbor, WA 98277
Phone: 360-279-4500
Fax: 360-279-4507
info@oakharbor.org

Text Size:
set largest text size set large text size set normal text size

Business License Information

We’re Here To Serve

We at the City of Oak Harbor are happy that you have chosen to do business in our City. We hope that your business will grow and be profitable, and want to encourage you to contact us directly if we can help you in any way.

We would like to remind you to collect and remit sales tax to the State of Washington to the credit of Oak Harbor. Effective January 1, 2010, our local sales tax rate is 8.7% and our location code is 1503.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the City Finance Department at (360) 279-4505. Again, thank you for doing business in the City of Oak Harbor and let us know if we can help you in any way.

Scott Dudley, Mayor
Douglas A. Merriman, Finance Director
 

Business License Information

APPLICATION/RENEWAL PROCESS

1. A City of Oak Harbor Business License Application/Renewal Form shall be completed and submitted to the Finance Office, 865 SE Barrington Drive, Oak Harbor, Wa. 98277, along with the applicable license fee.

2. All sections of the application MUST be completed.

3. Do NOT use a Post Office Box or Mail Stop as a business location address.

4. A State of Washington Business License (UBI #) is required. For information, call (360) 416-3000. Department of Revenue for tax filing information (800) 647-7706.

5. If a business is conducted from more than one location in the City, a separate license will be required for each location.

6. All businesses, including those run out of a home, are required to obtain a license.

7. All license fees are due and payable, in the Finance Department, BEFORE January 31 of each calendar year.

8. Licenses will be issued for a calendar year, beginning January and ending December 31.

9. The City of Oak Harbor, in issuing a business license, makes no representation that the business is in compliance with City or State Laws and Regulations. It is the responsibility of the business owner to investigate, maintain, and insure compliance with all applicable laws and regulations.

Click here for the Application for City Business License form


BUSINESS CLASSIFICATIONS

Class 1: $100 for taverns, fraternal organizations serving food or liquor, restaurant businesses serving liquor, grocery stores/supermarkets containing over 3,000 square feet of sales area and manufacturing and other business employing 50 or more full and/or part time employees.

Class 2: $50 for financial institutions including savings and loan businesses, credit unions, banks, professional businesses including law businesses, accounting businesses, dentists, doctors, optometrists, veterinarians, engineers, surveyors, architects, real estate brokers, insurance brokers, building and landscape designers, chiropractors, automobile dealerships and auto part dealers.

Class 3: $25 for businesses located outside the corporate limits of the City engaged in sales or sales of services within the corporate limits of the City, or making retail sales or sales and deliveries within the corporate limits of the City, contractors and subcontractors providing building services, or materials or equipment within the corporate limits of the City. All other businesses not classified as either Class 1 or Class 2.

Businesses moving into the City or starting after June 30th will pay ½ the specified fee above for the balance of the year.


SALE OR TRANSFER OF BUSINESS

1. A business license terminates with the sale or transfer of any business. The new owner must apply for a new business license.
 

EXEMPTIONS

1. Any non-profit organization holding a current IRS 501 (c) (3) exemption certificate issued by the Internal Revenue Service, must submit a copy of the certificate along with the application form, but will be exempt from the license fees.

2. Municipal corporations and other governmental agencies shall file an application form, but are exempt from the license fees.

Delinquency

1. Any business failing to obtain a license and pay the applicable fee before January 31, shall be assessed 18% of the annual license fee for each month or part of a month.

Penalty for Violation

1. Any person(s) violating or failing to comply with the Business License Ordinance, upon conviction, shall be guilty of a crime punishable by 90 days in jail or a $1,000 fine or both.

2. Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.

Copyright 2014 - City of Oak Harbor - All Rights Reserved. Site Design by HOW IT WORKS